Department Events

WE ARE NAPA COUNTY

Napa County LibraryEnriching Lives With Books and Information

New Signage
Home    |    Kids    |    Teens    |    Literacy    |    LifeWORKS         

Library Department Events and Programs

 Subscribe to receive event notifications

March  21, 2015     10:00 am  -  5:00 pm
The Friends of the Napa Library Book sale begins Saturday March 21 with members Only Day and continues through March 29.
 
April  25, 2015     12:00 pm  -  1:00 pm
Need service hours? Join us at the American Canyon Library at 12:00pm to find out about volunteer opportunities for teens. Call Renee Lacy at 707-644-1136 for more information.
 
April  27, 2015     6:30 pm  -  7:30 pm
Have a question about technology? Bring your device or use ours. From tablets and phones to email and ebooks...we can help! All sessions are offered in English and Spanish every Monday and Wednesday from 6:30-7:30pm.
 
April  29, 2015     2:00 pm  -  4:00 pm
Get help with your technology questions in a free one-on-one session.
 
April  29, 2015     4:00 pm  -  6:00 pm
Poetry Slam Poetry Slam is the competitive art of performance poetry. It puts a dual emphasis on writing and performance, encouraging poets to focus on what they are saying and how they say it. What do you have to say? Come compete for bragging rights and prizes.  Teen Programs are for ages 11-18.   For more information, contact Teen Librarian, Melinda Mathis at: melinda.mathis@countyofnapa.org or 259-8394. 
 
April  30, 2015     4:00 pm  -  5:00 pm
Are you interested in digital music creation? Come drop in the Beat Space located in the Teen Volunteer office right next to the teen room. Check out the fun equipment we have and make your own beats!Contact Teen Librarian Melinda Mathis at melinda.mathis@countyofnapa.org or (707)259-8394 with questions.   Ages for teen events are 11-18 or grades 6-12.
 
April  30, 2015     4:00 pm  -  6:00 pm
Make a booking for free one-on-one technology help.
 
May  01, 2015     12:00 pm  -  5:30 pm
 Basic one-on-one instruction. 30 minute appointments every Friday. Bring your questions and your own smartphone, tablet, laptop or we can use one of our computers. Call 942-4833 today to schedule your 30 minute session.
 
May  02, 2015     10:00 am  -  6:00 pm
Come to any Napa Library Branch to get your free comic books!  While supplies last!  All items donated by Diamond Comics.
 
May  02, 2015     2:00 pm  -  3:00 pm
Hands-on cooking workshop.  Learn how to make tamales from scratch with this hands-on workshop at the Napa Main Library.  RSVP to helene.crane@countyofnapa.org or 707-253-4104. 
 
May  02, 2015     3:15 pm  -  4:00 pm
Teen Volunteer Orientation First Saturday of each month 3:15-4 p.m.Applications available at the Napa Library or online For more information contact Teen Librarian Melinda Mathis at melinda.mathis@countyofnapa.org or (707)259-8394
 
May  04, 2015     2:00 pm  -  3:00 pm
Jill Wood, MSW, presents a toolkit for brain fitness with age.  Learn activities that can help you retain a sharp mind later in life.Presented in conjunction with Napa Valley Hospice and Adult Day Services.
 
May  04, 2015     8:30 am  -  12:30 pm
Napa Valley Adult Education and Workforce Napa offer a free four day program for those looking to develop employability skills.
 
May  05, 2015     4:00 pm  -  5:00 pm
Anime Club- Napa Library Teen Room 4-5 PMAges 11-18 or grades 6-12For more information, contact Teen Librarian, Melinda Mathis at: melinda.mathis@countyofnapa.org
 
May  05, 2015     8:30 am  -  12:30 pm
Napa Valley Adult Education and Workforce Napa offer a free four day program for those looking to develop employability skills.
 
May  05, 2015     6:30 pm  -  8:00 pm
Learn about the cultural history of Navajo weaving.
 
May  06, 2015     8:30 am  -  12:30 pm
Napa Valley Adult Education and Workforce Napa present a series of workshops focusing on Employability Skills.
 
May  06, 2015     4:00 pm  -  5:00 pm
Join the Library's Teen Advisory Board and earn volunteer hours by helping plan events for teens and providing advice about how the library provides services to teens. Drop in teens are welcome to participate and enjoy free refreshments.
 
May  07, 2015     8:30 am  -  12:30 pm
Napa Valley Adult Education and Workforce Napa present a series of workshops focusing on Employability Skills.
 
May  07, 2015     5:00 pm  -  6:00 pm
The Napa County Library Commission will hold a meeting on Thursday, May 7, at 5:00 p.m., at the American Canyon Library, 300 Crawford Way, American Canyon.   For more information, please contact the library business office at (707) 253-4242.
 
May  08, 2015     6:00 pm  -  7:30 pm
Each month the Library hosts a reception and artist's talk.  This month:  Photographer Mary Aiu has a deep respect for the world around her and finds inspiration from horses,  She has created composite works featuring these magnificent animals.  She will be displaying a collection of he equine work.  The "On the Run" and "Among the Trees" collections capture the spirit of horses through her photographic images and her digital composite work.
 
May  08, 2015     11:00 am  -  12:00 pm
 We meet on the second Friday of each month at 11:00. This month we are reading One Nation: What We Can All Do to Save America's FutureByCarson, BenAuthor Carson, Candy2014-05 - Sentinel9781595231123Check Our Catalog                     'Dr. Carson prescribes a dose of 'tough love' to cure the nation's ills and restore our faith in government and ourselves.' --Sam Donaldson …More   
 
May  08, 2015     3:30 pm  -  5:00 pm
This workshop provides peer support and guided help in finding a job or career.
 
May  09, 2015     12:00 pm  -  1:00 pm
Design a paper kimono using collage techniques.
 
May  09, 2015     3:00 pm  -  4:30 pm
makerLab-Earrings Come make a gift for Mother's day, a friend, or yourself! All supplies provided.   Teen programs are for ages 11-18 or grades 6-12. For more information, contact Teen Librarian Melinda Mathis at melinda.mathis@countyofnapa.org or 259-8394.
 
May  11, 2015     8:30 am  -  12:30 pm
Napa Valley Adult Education and Workforce Napa present Career Academy workshops.
 
May  12, 2015     8:30 am  -  12:30 pm
Napa Valley Adult Education and Workforce Napa present the Career Academy workshop series.
 
May  13, 2015     8:30 am  -  12:30 pm
Napa Valley Adult Education and Workforce Napa present the Career Academy workshop series.
 
May  13, 2015     3:30 pm  -  5:00 pm
Teens are invited to the American Canyon Library to play various video and board games.  3:30-5:00 pm Teen programs are for ages 11-18.  For more information, please contact Teen Librarian Melinda Mathis at melinda.mathis@countyofnapa.org or 707-259-8394 
 
May  13, 2015     6:00 pm  -  7:30 pm
Learn the basics of sushi making in this free workshop. Space is limited to 15 participants, reserve your spot before Friday, May 1st. RSVP to renee.lacy@countyofnapa.org or 707-644-1136
 
May  14, 2015     1:00 pm  -  2:00 pm
Napa Library book Club meets every 2nd Thursday of each month from 1pm- 2pm in the library Community Room.  This Month's book:The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin OlympicsByBrown, Daniel James2014-05 - Penguin Books9780143125471Check Our CatalogFor readers of Laura Hillenbrand's 'Seabiscuit' and 'Unbroken' comes the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics. Brown draws on the team's own journals, photos, and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream. …More       
 
May  14, 2015     8:30 am  -  12:30 pm
Napa Valley Adult Education and Workforce Napa present the Career Academy workshop series.
 
May  14, 2015     1:30 pm  -  3:30 pm
Resume Assistance  Thursdays  1:30 - 3:30 pm   ​Need help with your resume and cover letter?  Create your profile and presence on social media.  Use the computer as a tool for your job search.  FREE
 
May  15, 2015     3:30 pm  -  5:00 pm
ROCKBANDLe'ts Make Some Noise!  Teen Programs are for ages 11-18. For more information contact Teen Librarian, Melinda Mathis at melinda.mathis@countyofnapa.org or 259-8394
 
May  16, 2015     3:00 pm  -  4:00 pm
Tweens age 10 to 12 are invited to create personalized pet rocks that you can bring anywhere.
 
May  18, 2015     8:00 am  -  11:30 am
Career Academy: Interviewing SkillsThis workshop is for individuals who want to learn interviewing skills. We will cover topics such as appropriate dress, asking effective questions, listening skills, and non-verbal cues in the interview process.  By the end of this workshop participants will be able to demonstrate at least five important interviewing skills.
 
May  19, 2015     8:30 pm  -  12:30 pm
Napa Valley Adult Education and Workforce Napa offer a free four day program for those looking to develop employability skills.
 
May  20, 2015     8:30 am  -  12:30 am
Napa Valley Adult Education and Workforce Napa offer a free four day program for those looking to develop employability skills.
 
May  21, 2015     6:30 pm  -  7:30 pm
 The American Canyon Library book club meets the third Thursday of every month at 6:30 p.m. This month we are discussing: The AlchemistByCoelho, PauloAuthor Jurskis, Amy2014-04 - HarperOne9780062315007Check Our CatalogPaulo Coelho's enchanting novel has inspired a devoted following around the world. This story, dazzling in its powerful simplicity and soul-stirring wisdom, is about an Andalusian shepherd boy named Santiago who travels from his homeland in Spain to the Egyptian desert in search of a treasure buried near the Pyramids. Along the way he meets a Gypsy woman, a man who calls himself king, and an …More      For more information, call 707-644-1136 or visit American Canyon Library Book Club
 
May  21, 2015     8:30 am  -  12:30 pm
Napa Valley Adult Education and Workforce Napa offer a free two week program for those who want to build Career Skills.
 
May  21, 2015     7:00 pm  -  8:00 pm
Melissa West guides us on the famous Camino de Santiago through Spain.
 
May  23, 2015     3:00 pm  -  5:00 pm
Table Top gaming for all ages!Saturday May 23rd from 3-5Bring your favorite board game or use ours!For more information please contact Teen Librarian Mindy Mathis at melinda.mathis@countyofnapa.org or 707-259-8394.